top of page


Today, Central Sparks can confirm their Academy intake for the upcoming 2022/23 season. After an extensive selection process, we are delighted to welcome a group of players from across the West Midlands into the Central Sparks Academy.

Twelve players have been selected as the Academy intake for the next twelve months, which includes an extensive winter training programme leading into a summer match play programme where the Central Sparks will compete against other Regional Acadmies.

Central Sparks Academy welcomes three new players to the set-up, who have graduated from the Emerging Player Programme (EPP) and join the Academy group after showing high potential throughout the summer. Welcome Sophie Beech, Isabell Ellsmore and Ebony Tweats.

Hannah Baker and Davina Perrin have graduated from the Central Sparks Academy into full members of the Central Sparks senior squad, having both been integral players in the senior squad’s 2022 summer.

Central Sparks are also delighted to announce the expansion of the Emerging Player Programme, which will evolve into three hubs across the region.

Twenty two players have been invited onto the EPP winter programme, with players from each of Central Sparks’ five counties represented. This year’s intake sees a total of 44 young cricketers selected across both Academy and EPP squads.

Speaking of the new Academy intake, Senior Regional Talent Manager, Darren Franklin, commented: "Congratulations to all players who have been selected across both programmes. It was incredibly difficult to narrow down the pool of talent in the West Midlands, and the group that we have selected are filled with some really exciting prospects. Both programme will not only support these young players as cricketers but also work on their development as individuals, and we are really looking forward to getting started".

Central Sparks Academy 2022/23

Ellie Anderson (Worcestershire)

Meg Austin (Staffordshire)

Sophie Beech (Staffordshire)

Caitlin Belcher (Shropshire)

Lexie Cantrill (Staffordshire)

Emily Churms (Shropshire / Warwickshire)

Isabell Ellsmore (Staffordshire)

Hannah Hardwick (Worcestershire)

Charis Pavely (Worcestershire)

Laura Smitten (Warwickshire)

Libby Thomas (Wales)

Ebony Tweets (Staffordshire)

Central Sparks Emerging Player Programme 2022/23

Daisy Bell (Warwickshire)

Sophie Bennett (Leicestershire)

Phoebe Brett (Worcestershire)

Millie Carr (Worcestershire)

Issy Curry (Warwickshire)

Matilda Gater (Staffordshire)

Bryony Gillgrass (Worcestershire)

Amy Griffiths (Shropshire)

Charlotte Kirk (Staffordshire)

Lauren Kenvyn (Shropshire)

Amy Maund (Worcestershire)

Ruby Millington (Staffordshire)

Ellie Phillips (Warwickshire)

Charlotte Roberts (Worcestershire)

Samadhi Samarakoon (Warwickshire)

Lucy Shenton (Staffordshire)

Harriet Shuker (Warwickshire)

Tash Smitten (Warwickshire)

Katie Sturgess (Staffordshire)

Chloe Tingle (Herefordshire)

Holly Whitfield (Warwickshire)

Georgie Williams (Herefordshire / Worcestershire)


bottom of page