top of page

England name three Central Sparks players for tour of New Zealand

Amy Jones and Sarah Glenn have been selected in a squad of 16 for the upcoming series against New Zealand, with Issy Wong joining the group as a development opportunity.


The England Women’s Selectors have named a squad of 16 for the upcoming series against New Zealand, a trip that will see England Women play three IT20s and three ODIs against the White Ferns.

Lisa Keightley and her team fly to New Zealand on January 24 ahead of fixtures across February and March. Upon arriving, the group will quarantine for 14 days in line with the guidelines set in place by the New Zealand government. During this time, testing protocols will be in place to allow the group to train.

England Touring Squad:

  • Heather Knight (Western Storm, cap)

  • Tammy Beaumont (Lightning)

  • Katherine Brunt (Northern Diamonds)

  • Kate Cross (Thunder)

  • Freya Davies (South East Stars)

  • Sophia Dunkley (South East Stars)

  • Sophie Ecclestone (Thunder)

  • Georgia Elwiss (Southern Vipers)

  • Tash Farrant (South East Stars)

  • Sarah Glenn (Central Sparks)

  • Amy Jones (Central Sparks)

  • Nat Sciver (Northern Diamonds, vice cap)

  • Mady Villiers (Sunrisers)

  • Fran Wilson (Sunrisers)

  • Lauren Winfield-Hill (Northern Diamonds)

  • Danni Wyatt (Southern Vipers)

Director of England Women’s Cricket, Jonathan Finch, said:

“We’re hugely excited about getting over to New Zealand and maintaining our commitment to play international cricket despite these challenging times. We have a really important 24 months in front of us with two ICC Global Events, the Women’s Ashes and the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham. Our ambition is to be successful across all these events and this tour is the first step towards achieving that. “2020 has provided many challenges, but under the leadership of Lisa and Heather we have a group of players who are excited about the opportunities that lie ahead.”

Head Coach of Central Sparks, Lloyd Tennant, said:

“We’re delighted to see Amy Jones and Sarah Glenn be named in the squad and have the opportunity to represent England again. It’s also going to be a hugely valuable development opportunity for Issy Wong to train with the team and for them all to gain experience that will stand us in great stead for the domestic competition this summer.”

ODI Series

Tuesday February 23: 1st ODI, New Zealand v England (Hagley Oval, 1am GMT) Friday February 26: 2nd ODI, New Zealand v England (University of Otago Oval, 10pm GMT) Sunday February 28: 3rd ODI, New Zealand v England (University of Otago Oval, 10pm GMT)

IT20 Series

Wednesday March 3: 1st IT20, New Zealand v England (Sky Stadium, 2am GMT) Friday March 5: 2nd IT20, New Zealand v England (Eden Park, 2am GMT) Sunday March 7: 3rd IT20, New Zealand v England (Bay Oval, 11pm GMT)


Los comentarios se han desactivado.
bottom of page